It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
463 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Our latest  brochures are available now, with over 600 adventures for you to choose from.

Gift Vouchers

Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with over 600 tours & experiences to choose from. The perfect gift idea for any occasion.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Village Folklore & Danube Delta TD

Visiting: Romania
Tour Duration 11 Days
  • Bran Castle
  • Bran Castle
  •  Sticking to traditional methods
  • Exploring the Maramures Mountains
  • Backroads of Maramures
  • Tour Style: Classic
  • Tour Type: Small Groups
  • Tour Pace: Moderate
  • Tour Comfort: Standard
 

Book now!

6 reviews for this tour

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Village Folklore & Danube Delta tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
10 , 15/08/13

Name

Christopher Sheehy

Tour Code

TD

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Watching a white tipped eagle swooping at and harrying a gull that had strayed too close. It was one of the first sights on the delta and promised much. That promise was fulfilled.

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

A first class leader. Christi is knowledgeable and attentive to the needs of the group. It was a pleasure to have him in charge.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

You may find walking poles useful on parts of the treks.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Enjoy!

 
10 , 15/08/13

Name

Ann

Tour Name

Village Folklore & Danube delta

Tour Code

TD

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

I was inspired do this trip after reading 'Along the Enchanted Way'. We managed to see many different regions, so this trip was a taster, for future visits. It didn't disappoint. Our guide did an excellent job, highlighting all aspects of the country, truly knowledgable and enthusiastic. N

Tour Leader Name

Christi

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

One of the best...

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Do it ASAP.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Enjoy every moment.

 
10 Carol and Bob , 31/12/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Sheltering in an alpine wood hut sharing a laugh as red dye from a soaking wet hat ran down the neck of a fellow traveler. All this in Transylvania! Being invited to share a swig of Plum Brandy as the wedding party made their way to the local wooden church in Borsa The beautiful harmonies of the nuns singing in the open air service at Borsana.

 

Read more
 
10 Emma, 29/10/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The time spent in the Maramures was my favourite part of the tour.  The scenery was stunning and there's much more of a feel of stepping back in time.  Horse drawn carts, wooden house, fields of haystacks, etc..  Really enjoyed the walks here - particularly the first one.  The first part of that walk (day 5) is pretty tough, but it's worth it once you get to the top.  Other highlight was the 'surprise' visit (I'm not going to ruin it!) - which was really interesting, resulted in some great and much appreciated gifts and also the best homemade alcohol of the trip.

Read more
 
1 Ainslie Morris, 18/11/10

Gypsies. Communists. Why Romania, our friends asked. I can now re-assure them that the bad gypsies must have emigrated, along with the Communists of a past era. We were surprised and delighted to find Romania bursting with enterprise and relishing their two decades of freedom. Brasov with its outdoor cafes and concert in the handsome town square, the Bucovina region with our hikes from one painted monastery to the next, and birdwatching in the Danube Delta with our expert Explore leader, were highlights of a tour I would recommend to anyone who likes adventure-lite. We spent extra time in Bucharest, which was bustling in the warm evenings in the marvellous Old Town. (TD -9th September 2010)

 
0 HMS, 12/11/10
When I told friends and colleagues that I was going to Romania for a holiday, I was met with blank faces.   Why go there?  Some people asked out loud, almost everybody was thinking it.    My reason was a recommendation from another Explorer on a holiday some years ago.  Without his enthusiastic recommendation, it would never have occurred to me to go and I would have missed a wonderful trip.    The Village Folklore and Danube Delta trip has an exceptionally well thought out and varied itinerary.  You see the capital, with its pre-communist faded charm and soulless soviet relics.  You visit Dracula‚Äôs castle (or one of the alleged contenders) and admire or shudder at the wonderfully tacky tourist tat on sale outside.  You get to walk in the beautiful Carpathian mountains, which are home to a large population of bears, and you might as we did see very recent evidence of their proximity.  The painted monasteries have to be seen to be believed, you could take the entire holiday time just looking at the hundreds of biblical scenes, from the uplifting to the frankly gory.   The river boat trip on the Danube was heaven, the wildlife simply amazing.  I saw my first otter in the wild, as well as fantastic birdlife.    There is far too much on this holiday to mention everything.  However the merry cemetery is one highlight which is unlike anything else I have seen.  Instead of headstones, each grave in the merry cemetery has a painted wooden cross, with a picture of the deceased in a characteristic setting, and words from them to the visitor.  It is touching, comforting and entertaining.    Romania is changing fast.  Everywhere there are boards boasting of European Union funds financing projects and infrastructure.  In the rural areas, transport is still mostly by horse and cart, and many homes rely on village pumps for water.  Many rural people build their own homes, and they are lovingly decorated and maintained. I wanted to see Romania before it catches up too much with richer European economies.  All our group had a wonderful time, and I am truly grateful for the recommendation which inspired my visit.  I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. (TD -10th September 2009)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)
    Invalid Input
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA