It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
463 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Have you considered?

Brochures

Our latest  brochures are available now, with over 600 adventures for you to choose from.

Gift Vouchers

Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with over 600 tours & experiences to choose from. The perfect gift idea for any occasion.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Vietnam and Angkor Odyssey DVNC

Tour Duration 14 Days
  • Ha Long Bay
  • Local market, Hoi An
  • Fishing in Hoi An
  • Floating market on the mekong
  • Ta Phrom Temple
  • Tour Style: Premium
  • Tour Type: Small Groups
  • Tour Pace: Moderate
  • Tour Comfort: Comfortable
 

Book now!

9 reviews for this tour

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Vietnam and Angkor Odyssey tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
8 Pam Gardiner, 12/04/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Highlight was the cooking class in Hoi An - a very different experience preceded by a tour of the local market led by a very knowledgeable young lady. The most memorable moment was getting drenched in a coracle in torrential rain, rowed by a local lady in Halong Bay. Advice to bring waterproofs would have been helpful!

Read more
 
9 , 06/12/13

Name

Len

Tour Name

Vietnam & Angkor Odyssey

Tour Code

DVNC

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

With any highlight on a holiday for me has to be the unexpected pleasure. I only went to the Water Theatre out of curiosity. What a fantastic show I was enthralled for 50 minutes. It is only a puppet show but is so much fun. I just wish I knew more about the little stories they portrayed. Hoi An is the best stop, the river side bars watching the world go by at sun down is lovely.

Tour Leader Name

Hoan

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Hoan (pronounced Won) was a very fine guide and looked after us very well. He supplied some great hints and tips along the way. He made sure I always got vegi food no prompting was needed. The restaurants were great too. He also added greatly to the fun. Big thank you and Mot; Hi; Bar; Yoo!

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Don't go with Vietnam airlines, The service is great but the planes are tired and need attention. The screen backs did not work. The lights in the plane had a randomness so some people's overnight was with full lights on. The toilets were not all working 100% and worse of all the seats are hard and worn. I upgraded but it was a waste of money as I could not tell any difference. Pub Street is great but be aware of the Tut Tut pimps who hang around, just go and find a tut tut who is parked up nice and quiet. The best food does not always come from the best restaurants. Hue is pronounced Way.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

In Hoi An use the laundry across the road from the hotel, it's better and much cheaper and very friendly. The food in the market in Ho Chi Minh is excellent and was great fun. When crossing the road be bold. Its hard to keep up with the washing due to the heat, so any chance you have wash or laundry. 1$ does not always mean 1$ but 'you buy'. The kids are cute but should be in school not selling you post cards, the more you buy the less chance they have. Be adventurous and have fun it really is safe and the people are friendly. And last do go to the water theatre.

 
10 , 15/08/13

Name

Sarah

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The Mekong Delta boat trip when we had a relaxed lunch in a beautiful colonial-style house surrounded by lush gardens. The food was amazing, as it was everywhere in Vietnam and Cambodia

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Great. Hoan was always calm and collected, but I suspect there was a great deal of behind-the-scenes organisation by him to make everything run like clockwork. He was very knowledgeable and informative without overloading us with historical details.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

We got our visas in advance to save the hassle of queuing at Hanoi airport and also applied for an e-visa for Cambodia. It was expensive but stress-free. We didn't take malaria tablets and did not get bitten by mosquitoes but we did use 50% Deet spray all the time. Be assertive when crossing the roads in Hanoi and maintain eye contact with the hordes of moped-drivers!

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

It's hard to pick a particular highlight as I enjoyed every day and there was so much to see and do. Our group got on well together and we had a marvellous time trying out all the local beers as well as the cuisine. I would have preferred another airline as Vietnam Airlines was a bit of a grim experience. The air stewardess was very cross with me because she misheard my menu choice - we had upgraded to "Deluxe" Economy. She obviously hadn't been told that the customer may possibly be right. So many things were broken on the plane that I did start to worry if the engines had been properly maintained. The internal flights, by contrast, were very efficient.

 
10 Maria, 11/03/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Angkor was the most memorable part of the holiday and I think it was a great finale to the trip. I loved Hoi An and the Halong Bay too. The programme was varied, packed in lots of visits and the holtels were good quality.

Read more
 
10 Richard Walkley, 11/03/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

"We are on Explore tour DVNC in Hanoi. It is February 2013, the time when the Vietnamese celebrate the New Year by remembering their ancestors, cooking festive delicacies and wishing everyone Chuk Mung Nam Hoi-Happy New Year!
We felt privileged to share the hospitality and friendliness of the warm-hearted Hanoi people. Our tour leader, Mr.Long, made us feel part of the celebrations also by giving us all a Good Luck money envelope. We felt perfectly safe wandering round market stalls decked with masses of flowers and festive decorations bright in red and gold silks. Flowering trees for the home were abundant and made the city quite beautiful with its old world charm and no hint of previous rule.
Thank you Explore for such an amazing tour which exceeded our expectations."

Read more
 
10 Elizabeth Hutchinson , 31/12/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Cruising in luxury in Halong Bay, viewing the spectacular seascape of hundreds of islands rising steeply out of the water.

 

Read more
 
0 Julie Cook, 11/07/11
Fantastic Holiday - the group were all great and Bin the tour leader was just fantastic - so patient, funny and full of facts. I think we were on the first tour, so the timing didn't always work - the only time to do the walking tour of Saigon was at 6 in the morning - only 3 of us did it. So many highlights - Hoi Ann was a real treat. My made to measure winter coat has been much admired - it was a bit of a chore trying that on in the heat! Angkor Wat was just mind blowing, the town was such good fun - almost too many temples to fit into the couple days we had there. You almost wanted to do the trip in reverse starting at Angkor and ending at Halong Bay. Only place that I personally didn't like was Hue.  Accomodation was good - trails in Hoi Ann and the one in Cambodia were great. There was a long stop over in KL on the way back - 8 + hours but Explore were great I asked if we could stop over for a night in KL and then they arranged (at no extra cost on holiday) for us to fly back the next night at midnight - so we got an afternoon, evening and whole day in KL as well. This was our first Explore holiday - not to be our last! (DVNC - 10th January 2010)
 
0 Anthony Stowe, 29/12/10
The people in both Vietnam and Cambodia were a delight and our tour guide Binh was great with so much local knowledge. We were surprised by what was included in the tour, excellent value. May be a good idea to have a little extra free time, but it would be wrong to miss out any part of the tour including all the remarkable Temples in Cambodia. Thank You. (DVNC - 16th November 2010)
 
0 Nick Warran-Smith, 23/12/10
Early warning of flight details and stop-over times in Kuala Lumpur might have made us make alternative travel arrangements. Local people were nice. Tour leader was great with a sense of humour and lots of patience. Holiday was pretty much what it said on the tin. Recommended. (DVNC - 19th October 2010)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)
    Invalid Input
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA