It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
521 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 2,720

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast tours and experiences to choose from.

Reviews for Delhi To Kathmandu 4.5 out of 5 based on 13 ratings.

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Delhi To Kathmandu tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
5 Jane Hodd, 14/04/15

Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were

This trip cannot be beaten for sheer excitement and variety. My highlights turned out to be the days that I was most worried about or least interested in doing! The two days sailing down the Ganges were sublime and the Taj Mahal really is beyond words in real life. No picture or words can do it justice. My number one though has to be Bodnath in Kathmandu. I spent the whole of the final afternoon there on my own, monk and Tibetan woman watching! Sitting in a rooftop cafe admiring the stupa from on high and soaking up the relaxing spiritual atmosphere will stay with me for a long time.

Read more
 
4 Darren Sunley, 08/12/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

By far the most impressive part of the tour was seeing the Taj Mahal in person. Although I had seen ti on the TV and in photos, nothing prepares you for just how impressive it is up close! It really should be a must-do for everyone at some point in their life.

Read more
 
4 Paul Rose (Explore Staff), 03/12/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

This tour was a fantastic way to experience what India and Nepal have to offer. There is so much variety to the itinerary, almost every interest is catered for. It covers a lot of the main highlights of each country, and of course gets you up close and personal with the sights, smells and sounds.  This was my first time to India and Nepal so seeing the contrast between the two countries was a highlight in itself, but for me the sailing trip on the Ganges and spending some time in Chitwan in Nepal were both great.

Read more
 
5 Francoise Harlow, 11/04/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

There were many highlights for me but the most memorable was seeing the Taj Mahal emerging from the mist at dawn which was just magical. We stayed until the walls started to 'glisten' - an incredible sight. I wasn't expecting to be so impressed by such a popular tourist sight but as ever, Explore gets you to the right place at the right time when there weren't loads of other tourists around. The local guide was excellent and we even had a group photograph with a Taj backdrop taken by a professional photographer - a little 'tacky' I know but I'll definitely be getting mine framed!

Read more
 
5 David Kennard, 11/04/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Seeing the Taj Mahal for the first time, ghostly, shrouded in early morning mist. It was a surprisingly moving experience. The relationship between the perfectly proportioned central dome and the four separate tall watchtowers, their surfaces all smooth white, somehow conveys an overwhelming sense of isolation, aloneness and sadness, befitting its role as the mausoleum of the Mogul's beloved wife. I've never been emotionally moved by a building before, and it really touched me.

Read more
 
5 Sue Rusack, 24/02/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

So many moments of wonder. Tangled backstreets in Delhi, noise and chaos of cities. Then the serenity of temples and beauty of their carvings and inlay. Jaipur and the Amber Fort. Being first to see the Taj Mahal at dawn rising from the mist. Excitement of safaris and the peace sailing down the Ganges. The many, many sunrises and above all companionship and the sensitive skills of our brilliant leader Abi.

Read more
 
4 , 15/08/13

Name

N/A

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Bengal tigers in Rajasthan and the Taj Mahal

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Praddeep was great. He was very knowledgeable, organized and kind. One thing that I really appreciated was that he never took us to expensive or overpriced resturants that so many tour leaders do.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Don't eat spicey food, street food or fresh fruits and veggies - that way you won't get sick.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

I did 2 trips outside of the group which were great and should be added to your tour. The Gandhi Smriti Museum in Delhi(can't believe this wasn't included - it's India and should not be missed) and the Monkey Temple in Jaipur - never saw sooo many monkeys in one spot and watching the little ones swim was priceless.

 
5 Marion Round, 25/02/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The whole tour was packed with many sights and experiences that were amazing, very difficult to pick out just one, however seeing a tiger at Rathambore was a memorable thrill. I was not looking forward to the night camping but it turned out to be a lovely experience.

Read more
 
4 LB, 09/11/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

"Noise noise and more noise – from bells on bicycles to prayer bells, car horns to train hooters, tinny music from every shop doorway, local festival and temple to the engine noise from auto rickshaws to old cars and trucks.  The hawkers shouting and the shouts of the rickshaw wallahs vying for any business.
The iconic sights that have featured in travel guides and my imagination for years that have now become realised, Delhi’s Red Fort, the hilltop Amber Fort and the City palace in Jaipur, the fabulous Jantra Observatory, sitting on the iconic Princess Diana seat at the symmetrically perfect Taj Mahal to Durbar Square in Kathmandu and the fabulous ‘seeing’ Bodnath [Boudhanath] temple, to name but a few"


Read more
 
0 Sally Millner, 07/07/11
Immediately on arrival we were immersed in the sights, sounds ,smells  and colours of India together with the contrasts and contradictions. Not only this, practically all forms of transport known to man were commandeered along the way, air, coach, overnight sleeper train, hairy coach over high pass into Nepal, 2 days rowing boat on the Ganges, canoeing, bullock cart and elephant safari. There were the iconic sights, religious experiences, laughter, amazing characters, cricket fanaticism and more photo opportunities than any of us could cope with - being first through the gates of the Taj Mahal as it opened at dawn, the peace of the Ganges, only marred by a reenactment of the Boat Race Indian style....the mayhem of Veranase, the photogenic Nepalese, my husband being given a shave by a roadside barber as our coach had its tyre changed, and becoming an overnight local celebrity. We were entranced by it all - as someone once said - we'll be back...(DKT - 9th March 2011)
 
0 J Smyth, 11/02/11
After hearing all the comments about India - the poverty, the dirtiness, - I knew that my visit would be an experience I would never forget.  I didn't know that it would be a FANTASTIC experience though!  I fell in love with India. The vibrant colours, the sights, the smells - both good and bad, - the friendly people, the excellent food, and the wide array of forms of transport have found a special place in my heart.  I can't wait to go back there. The Delhi to Kathmandu tour was nicely paced, and although in every place we visited we said we could have stayed a little longer, there was nowhere we would have given up to make the time. Memorable moments:- dickering with tuc-tuc drivers as we tried to make our own way across Delhi, befriending one of the train station dogs as we waited for our overdue train at 2 in the morning, chasing through the secret passages of Amber Fort, the Taj - of course, floating silently down the Ganges on our six-man sailboats, then tying up with the other boats to be served a fantastic hot lunch from our "kitchen" boat, navigating the crowded streets of Varanasi, telling stories around the fire in our jungle lodge at Chitwan, and exploring the maze of stupas and temples in Durbar Square, Kathmandu. A truly unforgettable experience!  Thank you, Explore! (DK - 20th October 2010)
 
0 NNZ, 16/11/10
I loved the mosques and Taj Mahal in India; the sail on the Ganges and elephant safari in Nepal.  I thoroughly enjoyed the various modes of transportation, especially the Tuk Tuks!  I had a wonderful time but was disappointed to see all the litter in India (not a reflection of the tour). (DK -26th November 2009)
 
0 Nancy Zahornasky, 22/09/10
Loved the variety of things we saw and did, especially the elephant safari and sailing on the Ganges, as well as visiting the Taj Mahal, Red Fort, and so many other historic sights! This was a wonderful and exciting trip, and I'm already planning another trip with Explore, this one to Egypt and Jordan. I also traveled with Explore to Turkey a few years ago. (DK- 11th october 2009)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  3. Your Tour (*)
    Invalid Input
  4. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  5. Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  6. Tour leader name
  7. Do you have any feedback on your tour leaders performance?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  8. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  10. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  11.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA