It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
525 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 2,720

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast tours and experiences to choose from.

Ancient Macedonia AM

Tour Duration 15 Days
Reviews for Ancient Macedonia 4 out of 5 based on 7 ratings.

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Ancient Macedonia tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
4 Phil and Anita Child, 03/12/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Rila monastery, Ohrid, and Vergina (tomb of Philip II)and monastery of St. Joakim Osogovski. Skopje was spectacular, but probably could use less time there, and more in the mountains.

Read more
 
4.5 Linda Cassidy, 03/12/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The museum at Pella, the tomb of Phillip 11 and the ruins at Philippi were all totally unexpected and amazing wow moments. The countryside is beautiful - fabulous river gorges, forests and mountains. The day on Thassos was very relaxing - do take time to see the theatre. Everyone we met was friendly and helpful - Sofia and Skopje are great places for people watching with lots and lots of photo opportunities.

Read more
 
4 John, 09/07/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Philips tomb in Vergina. The museum incorporated into the tumulus where the ancient graves were discovered is amazing. It has to rank as one of the most tasteful museums in the world. The explanations and layout of the artifacts are excellent.

Read more
 
5 , 16/10/13

Name

Michelle Bird

Tour Code

AM

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

So hard to choose just one! The combination of ancient sites, beautiful churches and time spent outdoors come together to make this a brilliantly varied trip. There is a great balance of days packed with activites and free days to explore places at your leisure. Ohrid was a town I would love to go back to, its location on the shores of a lake give it a relaxed feel and it is home to so much to see and do - both ancient and modern. Other highlights included an exploration of the site of Phillipi, a maginficently preserved ancient town and time on Thassos Island, home to a wide range of different ways to spend your day - walks, museums, shops and even a beach for those who just want to relax. I had an amazing time visiting these three countries and learning about their history.

Tour Leader Name

Goran

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Goran was great - he was really knowledgeable about everywhere we visited and the history of the three countries. He was a lovley guy, so easy to get along with, really approachable and great at encouraging people to ask questions throughout the tour.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Do it! There is so much to the tour, including a lto mroe time spent outside than I expected. Having some knowledge of the history of the area would also be beneficial, though the Tour leader is definitely able to fill in any gaps in knowledge you may have.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Couldn't recommend this tour highly enough, there is so much more to it than I ever expected!

 
5 Elizabeth Cowan, 17/07/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

There were so many!  These four really stick out: the museum at Pella, the birthplace of Alexander the Great - newly opened with magnificent displays; Rila monastery,hidden away in a valley which kept the flame of Christianity alive during centureis of Ottoman rule; cruise around Mt Athos; and time out in and around Kavala and Thassos.

Read more
 
0.5 Ainslie Morris, 27/10/11

What I look for on a tour outside Australia are  living cultures, ancient civilizations and their historical sites, and green mountainous scenery. We had it all in Bulgaria, Macedonia and northern Greece, with the added bonus of an excellent Macedonian driver and very pleasant tour leader.

Some unexpected little highlights for me were the nightingale singing all night at the spectacular Monastery of St Joakim Osogovski; the delicious lunch in the ancient crumbling mining town of Kratovo;  the bubbling springs of Black Trim River that feed Lake Ohrid and the pearls made from fish scales; the World War I trenches below Hotel Molik in Pelister National Park; Vevcani with its own odd currency; the charm of the Thessaloniki Greeks; the paved Roman road at Philippi that went from Constantinople to Rome. My advice? See more of the Ballkans. (AM -22nd May 2011)

 
0 David Wilson, 08/07/11
A tour of great variety covering three different countries. Highlights included: staying in a monastery in a beautiful location, medieval churches around Lake Ohrid (also a beautiful location), the classical sites of Pella and Vergina (amazingly preserved tombs and exquisite gold objects), the vibrant Byzantine city of Thessaloniki, and boat trips up the Matka Gorge in Macedonia, and round Athos and to Thassos in Greece. Apart from the gold, the range of mosaics and frescos was stunning, and there was plenty to see in Sofia at the start and end of the tour. The Balkans are not easy to understand and the tensions and cross-cultural conflicts of the past are still in evidence in claims and counter-claims between the countries and communities, but walking around wherever we were was very safe and easy, and we were welcomed and people were interested in us wherever we went. Food and drink were good and varied, and good value especially in Macedonia and Bulgaria. Although I'd found information about most of the sites before travelling, they nearly all exceeded my expectations. It does help to have some background knowledge of the region so that the accounts you hear from the diffent local guides (all good) on the city and site tours can be fitted into context. I'd definitely recommend this -- it's one of the things Explore do so well, combining different and unexpected elements into an engaging and stimulating tour.
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  3. Your Tour (*)
    Invalid Input
  4. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  5. Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  6. Tour leader name
  7. Do you have any feedback on your tour leaders performance?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  8. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  10. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  11.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA