It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
463 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Brochures

Our latest  brochures are available now, with over 600 adventures for you to choose from.

Gift Vouchers

Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with over 600 tours & experiences to choose from. The perfect gift idea for any occasion.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Cuba Libre! CL

Visiting: Cuba
Tour Duration 15 Days
  • Vinales
  • Havana street scene
  • Trinidad Beach
  • Havana
  • Classic cars on the streets of Havana
  • Tour Style: Classic
  • Tour Type: Small Groups
  • Tour Pace: Busy
  • Tour Comfort: Standard
 

Book now!

32 reviews for this tour

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Cuba Libre! tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
10 Barbara Park, 11/04/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Having music and dancing in every single place no matter how small or large really made Cuba special. I loved exploring all the cities and thought that the east of Cuba was really special and very different to anywhere else. The whole island is laced with a sense of vibrancy and people really live for the moment. Can't wait to go back!

Read more
 
10 Barbara Ayres, 10/04/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Watching fabulous local salsa dancers in Casa del TROVA Santiago AND WATCHING RUMBA THEMED DANCING IN TOBAGO. The amasing saxophonist who sold us his C D from his house in Tobago will always be with me, and is playing in my kitchen now! The journey through Cuba was fascinating and I felt I really got to know how the country works. Havana is the most beautiful city I have ever been to,we managed to see The Beuna Vista Social Club and Friends at Hotel Nationale as we did a bit of Tailor made Explore after our tour finished.

Read more
 
9 , 24/01/14

Name

Jill Manning

Tour Code

CL

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Travelling in an old Russian trucks to start our walk in the Escambray Mountains. Sleeping on verandas at haciendas. Walking in the Sierra Maestra mountains. Spending a day on the beach at Cayo Levisa. So many highlights it is difficult to list them all!

Tour Leader Name

Elio Cordero

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Ticked all the boxes and exceeded our expectations. Elio was first class tour leader and went the extra mile on all days, culminating in a surprise trip in a Cadillac through Havana, brilliant!. All local guides were top class, very knowledgable and informative.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

"Just be aware there is very limited access to any internet, in fact non existent in most places, so do your research before you go, especially accomodation and local restaurants. Take a torch!"

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

The best trip ever, does exactly what it says on the tin! We shared our experience with such a great group of people and have so many memories it's difficult to list them all here. Highly recommend this tour for experiencing Cuba, the country and it's people. Viva Cuba Libre!

 
10 , 30/12/13

Name

Kathryn Tuddenham

Tour Name

Cuba Libre

Tour Code

CL

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Walking in the mountains

Tour Leader Name

Ernesto

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Brilliant - so much knowledge, and always supportive and friendly. Not sure there were any problems, we didn't see any but he probably just sorted them without us knowing

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Take a walking pole - the walks are not hard, but can be stony or slippery so a pole adds stability. Also, don't expect too much from the food - fish, pork or chicken seems to be the limit in restaurants - good but plain.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Both Cuba and the trip lived up to expectations and more. Very busy, you get to see so much and a great mix of activities - sightseeing and walking, then two lovely relaxing days at the end in Vinales.

 
9 , 09/12/13

Name

Denise Bates

Tour Name

Cuba Libre

Tour Code

CL

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Treking to Fidel and Che's jungle camp was fascinating and easy to see why they were never discovered. Santiago was great too. We could have done with more time there to be honest.

Tour Leader Name

Dayana

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Dayana was lovely. She always had a smile on her face. It was only her second trip with Explore. She kept us informed with information as we went along and answered any questions we had. The trip went smoothly.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Please take lots of soap and toothpaste for the adults and pens/pencils for the children. People up in the mountains really appreciate these little gifts. They are not without soap but it is very basic and quite expensive so something that smells nice is a real treat.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

All the hotels were adequate and clean. Do not expect top notch hotels. Some are more basic than others and often there is no hot water. Some are stays in cabins rather than hotels but these are nice. The furniture is old and often colonial in style and air conditioning units are usually very noisy and hanging off the walls. You just have to remember that the Cubans do not have the means to renovate their buildings. The Cuban people are really, really friendly. I felt safer in Cuba than in any other country I have visited.

 
9 , 06/12/13

Name

Anon

Tour Name

Cuba Libre

Tour Code

CL

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Havana was amazing with the old cars, the exquisite buildings, the hospitality of the Cuban people everywhere. Th Topes de Collantes, Vinales was amazing, Bycitaxi in Camaguey, vibrancy of Trinidad, the Salsa music in all the placed we visited.

Tour Leader Name

Lian

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Lian was a lovely guide who had a lot of passion for her country. Her knowledge of the local life and history held no bounds. She had a comedic flair and was able to get on with everyone and was so gentile. The bus driver, Jose, was also a hoot and between the two of them they made our holiday memorable.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Be careful of sun, particularly in Cayo de Levisa. I would recommend taking over some soap, shampoo, T-shirts and children's clothes, pens and paper to give to the poor families in the mountains. They are so appreciative of these gifts and I felt so humbled by their appreciation. It certainly made me take stock of how lucky I am in life. Aside from that, Cubans are so friendly and I am in awe of how they manage with so little but are still happy with their lot. Also, just be careful of the sun when sunning yourself in Cayo de Levisa. If you're vegetarian, all you will get is the same... rice,beans and vegetables and fruit. Sometimes pasta, Otherwise carnevals will be ok.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Don't expect 5 star treatment, but expect 5 star hospitality and you won't go wrong. I was under the "bungalow" aka pergola and managed to burn my feet and back. The sun is extremely strong. Make sure that you take 50% deep repellent to combat mosquitos. The food was not as bad as expected although it was limited. I enjoyed eating lobster and crocodile for first time. All in it was tasty. If you like hot n spicy you will be disappointed.

 
10 , 30/08/13

Name

Philip Mayor

Tour Name

Cuba Libre

Tour Code

CL

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

At the El Morro fort near Santiago at sunset, watching the work experience students firing the cannon apparently by trial and error.

Tour Leader Name

Osmin

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Outstanding. His English was excellent (at least as good as his group's), but even that was exceeded by his astonishing grasp of factual information relating to everywhere on the tour.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

As a fifty-something, beware the Cuban use of the word "undulating" when walking in the mountains. Also take the guidance about insect-repellent seriously when sleeping out.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

Standing on the verandah of the hacienda drinking cocktails on evening number four, another first-time Explore person remarked "Great tour, great leader, great group; what's the down-side?" Still wondering.

 
8 , 15/08/13

Name

Anon

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Trekking to Fidel and Che's jungle camp in the mountains and hearing about how ordinary Cubans live now.

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

She was helpful, worked hard for the group and dealt well with an awkward situation. But the activities offered in the trip notes in Vinales weren't offered as an option by the leader.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

"Non-meat eaters will find the food offered very limited, not so bad if you are a pescatarian. But compared with how locals have to buy food on rationing, you can't complain for a couple of weeks. Hotels are very basic, and one was not very clean."

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

It is a coach holiday in a way, as you spend so much time on the bus, and some of it is firmly on the tourist trail, but that does not detract from what a fascinating and brilliant country Cuba is.

 
10 , 15/08/13

Name

Shirley Johnston

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Staying in the haciendas in Topes de Collantes

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Excellent, the best tour leader I have had in all of my eight Explore holidays

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Be prepared for some long travelling days, but with plenty of stops and varied scenery even these were enjoyable. Take gifts of pens and soaps, much appreciated by everyone

 
10 Sarah, 22/03/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

"I loved the mountain stays - in particular sleeping outdoors seeing fireflies in the darkness is a special memory.

The whole island exceeded my expectations though (and they were already pretty high!)  I loved the people, the music, the dancing, the buildings, the weather, the culture, the cocktails and shared the trip with a lovely, mixed group of people.

Alongside Havana, Trinidad was one of my favourite towns but being in the mountains and the countryside around Vinales felt like we were really off the tourist trail.

The mix of sightseeing, walking and relaxing was just right."

Read more
 
10 Mary, 25/02/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

"Exploring Cuba was a delight with so many highlights I hadn't expected.  
The people, so friendly and the party atmosphere with constant music throughout the country - it was infectious.  

The mountains, the history of Cuba's past, the wildlife which I love and Havana with its crumbling buildings propped up for restoration were a a surprise and a photographic bonus.  "

Read more
 
8 Hilary Dover, 22/02/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Trekking in the mountains  and swimming with the coloured fish

Read more
 
10 Brian Leslie Goredema-Braid, 02/01/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

"There were several highlights - just Havana itself, the visit to the Sierra Maestra and the revolution HQ. The visit to Vinales and the island of Cayo Levisa. But THE overall highlight was the opportunity to drive a steam train - only for 2 miles and at 20 mph and under instruction - but a boyhood ambition was achieved!
I also enjoyed the opportunities for salsa dancing"

Read more
 
8 Patricia Christiane Gilmore, 02/01/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Walking in the National parks

Read more
 
10 Marion Knight, 02/01/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

It's hard to say just one! I liked seeing the hummingbirds and trekking in the rainforest and swimming in the waterfall at Topes Colleantes, seeing the derailed train and hearing our tour leader Rene speak so eloquently and passionately about the Revolution. Trekking to Fidel's mountain hideout was also another highlight, plus cruising along the Malecon in Havana in a 50's American car.

Read more
 
8 Peter Lohmann, 31/12/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Overall a great and interesting tour. Covered almost all of Cuba from cities to mountains, from snorkling to hiking.

 

Read more
 
10 Vera Abraham, 10/10/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Cuba is one long photo opportunity. Every single day was memorable!  Havana was fascinating. The landscapes were stunning.  There was so much history to find out about. The people were so friendly. There was music and dancing at every turn. In Vinales we enjoyed our ride into town in the all American cars!  However, the overnight stays and walks in the Topos de Collantes were what made this trip different from other tour companies' itineraries, and the reason we chose to travel with Explore.  We'll never forget sleeping out on the verandah listening to the night sounds around us, and the walks in the mountains and swims in natural pools.  It was my birthday on the last evening and we ate at the Hotel Nacionale and I joined in with band on maraccas!

Read more
 
10 Helen Stanley, 28/08/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The Hacienda overnight stops - sleeping out on the Balconys under the stars and waking up to the cockerel in the beautiful countryside; the excellent salsa music and dancing; learning the fascinating history of Cuba and visiting the Che Mausoleum.  The excellent tour leader and driver and the lovely group of people I had the privelidge to travel with.

Read more
 
8 Patricia Janiec, 22/08/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Havana and Trinidad

Read more
 
0 Barbara, 03/04/12
A really comprehensive tour. Brilliant driver, Manuel; lively, informative guide, Liann. We saw and learned a lot about Cuba. TIPS: take your own bar of soap so you can give away the free bars in the hotels. Soap is not included in Cuban ration books and is expensive. Take lots of biros as practically every adult asks for one. Also give your guides tips in STERLING not CUCs. It's worth a lot more for them.  Finally DO NOT LOSE YOUR EXIT VISA!!! The Cuban visa is just a loose piece of paper and is easy to lose. Staple it into your passport!  Drink lots of water - it's hot over there!  Have fun - we did.
 
0 KPF, 20/02/12
Don't book this trip if you expect 4/5-star accommodation, cordon bleu cuisine and itineraries running like clockwork.  That's not how Cuba works. However if you're prepared to jettison your 'western' expectations, have more than the odd cold shower (or no shower at all) and do a few long road journeys, this Cuba trip will reward you with one of the most fascinating experiences you could ever have.  An enormously varied landscape of immense beauty, with a fascinating history, and the constant of a curious but welcoming population.  Yes, you might feel 'hassled' or 'taken advantage of' occasionally, but compared to the reality of the average Cuban's life, we have it easy.  Its hard to pick a highlight, but Vinales & the west is particularly special.  Small consumable items (such as soap, toothpaste, shampoo) or clothing are much appreciated as they are hard to come by & expensive for the average Cuban.  And try to learn a bit of Spanish - it's not a hard language, but is very appreciated and, more importantly, opens up a whole new level of experience for the foreign visitor. I'd advise people to go as soon as they can as Cuba is approaching a major crossroads, and will change beyond recognition soon.  Which direction this change is in is anyone's guess!
 
0 S.P., 18/11/11
The inimitable face of Fidel Castro lit up in the darkness as the bus from the airport passed the Plaza de la Revolucion on its way to our hotel - the first of many striking images. From the faded glory and vintage cars of beautiful Havana to colourful colonial Trinidad to the hiking trails of Topes de Collantes to the revolutionary atmosphere of Santiago to the totally tropical waters of Cayo Levisa... So much to take in, so much to do and see and experience. It's certainly a packed trip! Our guide and driver were brilliant, taking us to some lovely places, and we felt at ease the whole time.  Don't expect 5-star accommodation and a fair bit of time was spent on the bus (one leg took about 8 hours), but at the very least there was always an interesting view and plenty of breaks. One of our favourite games was to play "spot how many images of Che Guevara and revolutionary slogans on billboards" - which does give you a real sense of the politics of the country and how life is gradually changing for its inhabitants. A great holiday if you want to learn a bit about everything, from history to nature to culture.(CL)
 
0 EC, 15/08/11
I wasn't sure what to expect during this trip but what a lovely country! People were friendly and welcoming and there is a great atmosphere wherever you go.  Our guide Marlon was very knowledgeable and taught us everything we needed to know in regards to the history of Cuba. Highlights: Havana, Cayo Levisa, eating at a local families’ house, camping at haciendas, beautiful scenery, Cuban culture, cocktails!!!!  Tips: Go on a Hemmingway bar crawl in Havana and try a different cocktail everywhere you go! Take a mosquito net if you're planning to sleep out at the haciendas.  A sleeping bag isn't really needed, far too hot (in July) sheet or liner would be fine.  There is a LOT of travelling, if you don't like sitting on a coach this trip isn't for you.  Find out a bit about the history before going.  Takes lots of pens and soap (and even old clothes if you can) to give to people, they are desperate for it and so happy to receive even a small amount. ( CL - 23rd July 2011)
 
0 Colleen Knowles, 11/07/11
When travelling with Explore you are always told to 'expect the unexpected' and it is often that which can turn out to be the highlight of your holiday. This is exactly what happened on our holiday to Cuba in 2010. The carefully planned itinerary began to fall apart when we were caught up in the middle of a tropical storm. We were temporarily stranded in Trinidad with the imminent possibility of our cabin being flooded. The National Park that we were to have moved on to was closed because the roads were too dangerous. The next stop had to be abandoned because a tree had fallen on to the kitchen block (thankfully no-one was hurt). In Santiago there was an earth tremor of 5.1 on the richter scale. What else could go wrong? Fortunately our excellent guide was more than up to the task and when there was another forced detour in the Sierra Maestra he took us to a small secluded hotel which indeed proved to be a real unplanned highlight. There was a waterfall in the back garden, and we had a local guide to walk us around an area of riverbeds and mountain tracks that were only ever used by local people and mules. We passed a small farm and were invited in for coffee. Coffee beans were being roasted over a fire in the back yard, and an old lady was in the kitchen using a huge mortar and pestle to grind the coffee. Their best tiny china cups were brought out and whilst we had chickens and cats running around our feet we drank the best coffee I have ever tasted. All of this only happened 'because of the rain!'. (CL - 10th January 2010)
 
0 S.D., 14/06/11
This was a brilliant trip to gain a flavour of Cuba. I loved the time walking in the mountains and seeing hummingbirds for the first time was a highlight for me. Our local guide was very enthusiastic on the walks to and from the Haciendas and really wanted everyone to share his passion for the Cuban flora and fauna. It was great to see round the cities and in particular Havana, although I was surprised at how many buildings in Havana are in a poor condition. Otherwise, I really enjoyed the Houses of Music that we visited and loved watching the dancing and music. Cuba is a fascinating place and if approached with an open mind (for example the variety of food is limited and there are long days travelling) this was an amazing trip and the two weeks passed in a blur. (CL - 23rd May 2011)
 
0 Susan and Paul, 16/05/11
This is a great trip with so much variety and so much to see. There is a lot of walking, not always on the flat, there is also a couple of long days on the bus - books and sweets help to pass the time as does playing a few games as our group did eg 'chinese whispers, who am I? etc. Allow enough money to buy meals as though not included on the whole these will be taken at restaraunts chosen for you with a limited choice. Local beer, cocktails and of course rum are fairly cheap - and plentiful. as long as you have an open mind and are eager to see as much as possible that this lovely country has to offer it will be an enjoyable experience. Remember most of the year it is hot so the day will start early, the Cubans love their music and to dance so the days are likely to end late. (CL - 7th February 2011)
 
0 Catheryn Morrissey (Explore Staff), 04/05/11

A fantastic tour – covering every aspect of Cuba. I particularly enjoyed Trinidad and the walks in Topes de Collantes – seeing the Trogon and learning about the history of the Revolution.

It was also great to see the tobacco farmers hand rolling cigars and getting to eat in the ‘home’ style restaurants and meet the families who lived there.

Take a ride in an old Yankey Doodle car or even a ‘Coco-taxi’ and my top tip – try a new cocktail at every place you stop and don’t hesitate to dance with a local when they ask you at one of the many houses’ of music. They will whirl you around and show you how to salsa the night away! Great fun! (CL - 26th March 2011)

 
0 angie panton, 11/02/11
Cuba is a hugely interesting place and very pleased with explore generally. Our tour guide Renier Rodriguez absolutely made the trip for us with his professionalism, humour and hard work. We'd certainly like to recommend him for an award. He obviously loves his country and his job and nothing was too much trouble in terms of explaining aspects of his country and giving us advice. I understand he is sub contracted to work for Explore. He is a complete diamond and I hope he is fully appreciated! (CL - 8th January 2011)
 
0 Peter Dawkins, 31/12/10
The island was beautiful, varied both geographically and in crops & vegetation and the trip was just loaded with highlights from old colonial towns and old American cars to to nights on the verandas of haciendas in the mountains and pina coladas on white-sanded beaches. Our guide, Luis, was fantastic and gave us a great insight into life in Cuba today through the eyes of a young man. For me the real highlight was getting so close to the events & the people involved in one of the most fascinating stories of the last century and to see the "experiment" of a socialist society  at first hand. It provoked endless discussion amongst the group, And when things started getting intense the endless supplies of rum, music and sunshine restored the balance! My advice would be to go with an open mind and be prepared for anything - and try & get there quickly before it changes too much. (CL - 20th November 2010)
 
0 HMS, 12/11/10
There were some things I already knew about Cuba.  I knew it had beautiful beaches, that it makes cigars, that it is a thorn in the USA’s side politically, that Fidel Castro’s regime has largely continued under his brother Raoul and that I would see lots of vintage American cars.  I had heard that the food was bad.  However there was a lot that I did not know, and this was a fascinating trip.  Our guide Dayron was wonderful, and I recommend that you try to go when he is leading.    I had no idea that the scenery was so varied, and that Cuba has rainforest.  I was surprised to find that some local people were prepared to criticise the Castro regime to tourists.  I was shocked to see beggars in a socialist country, begging because they cannot survive on the basic state wage.  Many Cubans run unofficial businesses or have several jobs – there is an enterprising and imaginative approach to coping with a dysfunctional economy.  I did not know that there are two currencies, one for tourists and one for locals, with separate shops – very much like former Communist foreign currency shops under the old Soviet system.    While Cuba is not a gourmet destination, the food was not as bad as I had feared.  Some meals were grim, but generally the food is just very plain – no sauces or spice, and a limited choice.  But everything is fresh and seasonal, mostly organic because Cubans cannot afford pesticides and chemicals, and the spit roast pig we had at one of the haciendas was a truly memorable and delicious meal.    Cubans know how to have fun, and the music and dancing were great.  Sadly the CD I bought did not work at home.  The mojitos and other rum cocktails are wonderful, and they taste nearly as good when you make them at home.    A word of warning.  While the meal costs on the itinerary are factually accurate, I underestimated the amount of money I would need.  Almost everywhere, tourists have to eat at specific places and there is a set menu at an inflated price.  There are few if any cafes where you can get a cheap snack.  So if you are on a budget, take some energy bars.    I wanted to see Cuba before the inevitable political changes which will come after the Castro era.  I will want to go back again, but I hope that Cuba keeps its charm and culture rather than becoming a conglomerate clone. (CL -27th February 2010)
 
0 DD, 12/11/10

Thank heavens for Vitamin R!  Cuba’s liquid gold (rum) soon transformed 18 shy strangers into firm friends.  Who could remain aloof when we were immediately whisked along to strut our (fairly rusty) stuff at a samba evening and we were soon making a beeline for the excellent music and dancing to be found at the  “Casa de las Trovas”  in each town.     

This trip is for you if you like to leave your normal comfort zone behind.  Some might dread the challenging all day treks to the haciendas, but the scenery was stunning and the sense of achievement priceless.  Kicking back in a rocking chair, watching humming birds drift around the grapefruit tree – total paradise.    You do need to take a fairly relaxed attitude to personal space and privacy  - “washing” being mainly thanks to dips in mountain lakes and sleeping under the stars revealing exactly who snored the loudest!   What bliss though to revert to childhood, safe in the knowledge that our every whim was catered for by Luis, - a worthy finalist in the 2010 Explore Tour Guides Awards.  The food was astounding (a hog roast rustled up in the middle of the mountains) and the Vitamin R in constant supply.  We were free to be dirty, weary and just a little tipsy – on this basis great friendships are made.    

As the largest and possibly most beautiful island in the Caribbean, Cuba really does offer something for everyone.  History buffs enjoyed the Bay of Pigs (quite a smelly backwater swamp), the romantic mountain Commandatura de la Plata hideaway from revolutionary days and the inescapable photos of Che (all the more noticeable as advertising is banned).   Nature lovers were spoilt for choice, with stunning flora and fauna, but Cuba is mainly for fun lovers, with the crazy 50’s automobiles, the locals’ passion for music and dancing and a lovely, lazy day on a Caribbean beach to round off a perfect trip.    We covered quite some miles in our swish air conditioned bus, but any complaints (“not cheese and ham sarnies again”) were soon muted as we whizzed past the locals, queuing endlessly for lifts in this socialist paradise.   Tourists are cosseted in a parallel universe, with dual currency and limited opportunity for interaction (don’t you wish you had paid more attention to school Spanish lessons?)  However, when we did get chatting, there was no stopping them.  Generations on from the glorious revolution, young people are desperate for greater opportunities and a wider world view (currently, most cannot travel and internet access is severely restricted).  Most food is still rationed and a  lack of material wealth is also quite evident. 

PLEASE take stacks of western shower gel and other small toiletries, as these were hugely appreciated.  Also, if you have any old hiking boots and gear, do be prepared to leave these behind, as they will find a very welcome home.  On a selfish note, take plenty of snacks and sweets for the bus trips, as a change from the inevitable cheese and ham sarnies.   

If you want to have your eyes opened, your senses refreshed and your value system challenged, then this is the trip for you.  For passion, pride and sheer exuberance, you can’t beat Cuba and its vibrant people. (CL -March 13th 2010)

 
0 J.A.H, 22/09/10
Things that explore fail to tell you before you book... The walks are described as easy to moderate but you need to be fit- uphill in a hot climate. If you are unfit you will struggle, both young and old did on this trip. The tour throws you in at the deep end with the first big walk being a struggle for some of the older and younger unfit tourists. If it was not for our superb tour guide and local guides most of us would not have made it, they made us walking sticks and helped a member of the party up all the way... ...Only one shower for our party [at the hacienda] and additionally another party. More worrying for the future another hut seemed to be being constructed to sleep yet more people. Highlights -Castro's hide out and walk to it, superb scenery and knowledge of guide re the revolution was excellent. Good tour for an overview of Cuban history and variety of scenery. (CL- 31st July 2010)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)
    Invalid Input
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA