It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
569 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Cuba Libre! CL

Visiting: Cuba
Trip Duration 15 Days
 

Reviews for Cuba Libre!

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Trip notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated trip note, detailing all you need to know about that trip. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Cuba Libre! trip available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Cuba Libre! reviews verified by Reevoo

94 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Cuba Libre!Scores 8.3 out of 10 based on 94 reviews
(9 out of 10)

Richard

Cambridge
A fantastic tour leader more than made up for the fact only two people were on the tour. Highlights were numerous and a wealth of information was given about Cuba's incredible history. Trinidad was exceptional as was Santiego, Santa Clara, Fidel's mountain camp and much
more.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful
Confirmed traveller: 15 May 2016
Published on: 18 May 2016
(8 out of 10)

Patricia

Cheshire
This was indeed a "busy" trip but it enabled you to see so much of the beautiful island of Cuba. The tour guide was informative and very knowledgeable. Cuba is very diverse and in spite of the hardships the people have had to suffer they are very friendly and welcoming. Trinidad was fabulous especially staying with locals and the tour of the Topes de Collantes National Park was amazing. The two weeks flew by as each day brought a new and exciting adventure. Cuba is beautiful and I would recommend this interesting tour.
Confirmed traveller: 08 May 2016
Published on: 14 May 2016
(9 out of 10)

Paul

Bracknell
The overall holiday was excellent with a good mixture of activities and locations. Some of the accommodation was a little basic but were in line with our expectations and all were clean. Some of the walks were more difficult then expected as there were quite steep uphill and very long downhill elements. If you like spicy food I suggest that you take some Tabasco with you as most is fairly bland and most times you are lucky to have pepper on the table. We particularly enjoyed the days in the mountains walking and visiting Castro's hideout. Ernesto our leader was very good and explained things clearly. Although we were told which days we could change money, many of the hotels also provide this service if asked and actually have money available. ATMs are not particularly reliable as proved in the airport when all 4 were out of action. Contrary to advice before we left from a number of sources, some banks will exchange US Dollars, although not sure whether the rates are any more competitive than Sterling or Euros.
Confirmed traveller: 08 May 2016
Published on: 13 May 2016
(8 out of 10)

Gerald

Hampshire
The tour was good with plenty of variety and busy. As the title suggests independence and the revolution was given a fair amount of time and future customers should appreciate this point although there was time for other activities such as walking in the mountains and swimming. Downside were the flights which were average and two long coach days when over 1000km were covered.
Confirmed traveller: 08 May 2016
Published on: 12 May 2016
(9 out of 10)

Mark

London
A great trip. A perfect combination of history, culture, cities, mountains, beaches and people. Cuba is a beautiful country with an amazing sense of life. There is music everywhere and plenty of rum to go with it!
Confirmed traveller: 08 May 2016
Published on: 09 May 2016
(8 out of 10)

Jane

Leeds. Uk
Excellent itinerary covering cities & countryside. Highlights for me were trek in Topes Collantes Park, drive in Russian truck, Hacienda Codina , Old town of Trinidad & Camaguey. Enjoyed stays in Casa Particulares best. Colon hotel in Camaguey also lovely. San Juan hotel in Santiago dreadful as was Rancho San Vicente in Venales. Our tour leader Jose was brilliant & he sorted our problems swiftly & did his best. Friendly , understanding & knowledgeable. Our coach driver Carlos, was also excellent. Both high recommendation. Overall the trip was amazing . Pace about right for me ( mid 60's).
Confirmed traveller: 01 May 2016
Published on: 02 May 2016
(8 out of 10)

Alison

Attwood
A very interesting, informative and enjoyable holiday. We covered a lot of Cuba, which meant some long travelling days, but also plenty of sightseeing opportunities. The programme was varied and well-balanced with city tours, historical monuments, a few days' trekking in the mountains and a day at the beach snorkelling and chilling out. The Cuban people are friendly and fun. The quality of accommodation and transport was better than I had expected - a couple of cold showers and a few potholes but mostly things worked well. The holiday was quite costly with food and drink comparable with UK prices, except for the cheap and wonderful cocktails. The food was a bit monotonous (unless you really like ham and cheese), but again okay. Our guide was good and our group fantastic. Overall I had a fantastic holiday and I would recommend this trip, but go soon as Cuba is anticipating an influx of American tourists and I'm sure things will change.
Confirmed traveller: 24 April 2016
Published on: 27 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Lesley

Newcastle upon Tyne
An excellent tour and a fabulous introduction to all aspects of this fascinating country. Our leader Osiris and driver Tomas were both exceptional and helped to make this a truly memorable experience.
As this tour involves extensive coach travel and a varied standard of accommodation you need to be prepared for the challenge - particularly for the very long haul back from Santiago to Vinales over 2 days. It would have been good to stay in Casas at Vinales as the Rancho San Vicente Hotel is a little tired!
Highlights were plentiful and varied; they included the biodiversity on all the walks, the lovely Hacienda Codina - great food and sleeping under a starlit sky, vibrant Havana and Trinidad, the peace and reverence of the Che Mausoleum, relaxing at Cayo Leviso........
Tips - Bottled water is available everywhere so a filter bottle unnecessary, take cash to exchange as some ATMs problematic and exchange reasonable amounts of cash at a time as there are often long bank queues. Acquire a taste for rum cocktails and salsa dancing!
Confirmed traveller: 19 April 2016
Published on: 27 April 2016
(7 out of 10)

Philip

Stockport
Osiris was a brilliant Leader. 110/100.

Highlights : 1. American car ride 2. Hacienda Codina 3. Fidel's hideaway

Bad points : 1. The itinerary DID NOT MAKE IT CLEAR THAT THERE WERE TWO FULL DAYS [wasted] ON THE COACH. I expected one day only. Internal flights really should be offered from Santiago to Vinales, accepting that an extra payment would be charged. The two wasted days have put me off booking with Explore again.
2. The Cuba internet is a total waste of time. This is not a complaint about Explore but why not make this clear. I bought 3 separate cards and they all failed almost immediately.
Confirmed traveller: 19 April 2016
Published on: 22 April 2016