It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
573 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Feedback

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Cuba Libre! CL

Visiting: Cuba
Tour Duration 15 Days
 

Reviews for Cuba Libre!

Travellers were asked to provide a review of the trip, including highlights and tips.

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Cuba Libre! tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Cuba Libre! reviews verified by Reevoo

88 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Cuba Libre!Scores 8.3 out of 10 based on 88 reviews
(8 out of 10)

Jane

Leeds. Uk
Excellent itinerary covering cities & countryside. Highlights for me were trek in Topes Collantes Park, drive in Russian truck, Hacienda Codina , Old town of Trinidad & Camaguey. Enjoyed stays in Casa Particulares best. Colon hotel in Camaguey also lovely. San Juan hotel in Santiago dreadful as was Rancho San Vicente in Venales. Our tour leader Jose was brilliant & he sorted our problems swiftly & did his best. Friendly , understanding & knowledgeable. Our coach driver Carlos, was also excellent. Both high recommendation. Overall the trip was amazing . Pace about right for me ( mid 60's).
Confirmed traveller: 01 May 2016
Published on: 02 May 2016
(8 out of 10)

Alison

Attwood
A very interesting, informative and enjoyable holiday. We covered a lot of Cuba, which meant some long travelling days, but also plenty of sightseeing opportunities. The programme was varied and well-balanced with city tours, historical monuments, a few days' trekking in the mountains and a day at the beach snorkelling and chilling out. The Cuban people are friendly and fun. The quality of accommodation and transport was better than I had expected - a couple of cold showers and a few potholes but mostly things worked well. The holiday was quite costly with food and drink comparable with UK prices, except for the cheap and wonderful cocktails. The food was a bit monotonous (unless you really like ham and cheese), but again okay. Our guide was good and our group fantastic. Overall I had a fantastic holiday and I would recommend this trip, but go soon as Cuba is anticipating an influx of American tourists and I'm sure things will change.
Confirmed traveller: 24 April 2016
Published on: 27 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Lesley

Newcastle upon Tyne
An excellent tour and a fabulous introduction to all aspects of this fascinating country. Our leader Osiris and driver Tomas were both exceptional and helped to make this a truly memorable experience.
As this tour involves extensive coach travel and a varied standard of accommodation you need to be prepared for the challenge - particularly for the very long haul back from Santiago to Vinales over 2 days. It would have been good to stay in Casas at Vinales as the Rancho San Vicente Hotel is a little tired!
Highlights were plentiful and varied; they included the biodiversity on all the walks, the lovely Hacienda Codina - great food and sleeping under a starlit sky, vibrant Havana and Trinidad, the peace and reverence of the Che Mausoleum, relaxing at Cayo Leviso........
Tips - Bottled water is available everywhere so a filter bottle unnecessary, take cash to exchange as some ATMs problematic and exchange reasonable amounts of cash at a time as there are often long bank queues. Acquire a taste for rum cocktails and salsa dancing!
Confirmed traveller: 19 April 2016
Published on: 27 April 2016
(7 out of 10)

Philip

Stockport
Osiris was a brilliant Leader. 110/100.

Highlights : 1. American car ride 2. Hacienda Codina 3. Fidel's hideaway

Bad points : 1. The itinerary DID NOT MAKE IT CLEAR THAT THERE WERE TWO FULL DAYS [wasted] ON THE COACH. I expected one day only. Internal flights really should be offered from Santiago to Vinales, accepting that an extra payment would be charged. The two wasted days have put me off booking with Explore again.
2. The Cuba internet is a total waste of time. This is not a complaint about Explore but why not make this clear. I bought 3 separate cards and they all failed almost immediately.
Confirmed traveller: 19 April 2016
Published on: 22 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Anne

Qawra, Malta
I enjoyed every aspect of the holiday. The leader was super, always ready to give more information about his country and life there. Some of the coach journeys were long but the scenery was magnificent and time passed quickly!
Confirmed traveller: 17 April 2016
Published on: 22 April 2016
(8 out of 10)

Jeanette

London
The stay at the casa at Trinidad was disappointing:
- the neighbourhood is scruffy
- there is no lock to the bedroom door, no toilet seat, no hot water and bedside light
- the lady doesn't speak any English so we could not speak to her about her way of life, her husband had better English, but we did not see much of him

Majority of the restaurants that the guide organised offers the same overcooked fried meat/fish night after night, whereas we managed to find other restaurants that offers a more varied menu and food that is "not overcooked".

Not receiving advance information for preparation for the next day's activities meant that we had to wait around quite a bit. Not pre-booking snorkelling option meant that we missed out (although we were told that boat broke down, could we have booked a working boat?).

We did not go to Soroa on the way out, this meant that we had to do it on the way back to Havana and missed out on the cave (the guide put us off the cave by telling us of long queues for the boat and that it was not worth the delay to our return to Havana). We spoke to someone on the Explore cycle tour who visited the cave that said it was very interesting and no queuing for more that 10 minutes.


On the positive side, the architecture was beautiful, the locals are welcoming (when not trying to sell us something). Cuba's free healthcare and education is a good thing.

I hope that Havantour improve their organisation skills in readiness for more visitors in the future. I would also like to find out if we get overcooked food because it is their culture?lack of training? or whether they think that is what the tourists want.
Confirmed traveller: 16 April 2016
Published on: 22 April 2016
(10 out of 10)

Eadaoin

London
Amazing trip! Perfect way to experience all the different parts of the country and the Cuban history and culture. Prepare for early starts and a busy couple of weeks but they are worthwhile as it allows time for more exploring. Our tour guide Yuni was great and constantly provided us with lots of information. There are 2 long days on the coach but this is necessary to cross the country and it's rewarded with a day on the beach to relax. The walking was great as it provided a completely different view of Cuba and our local guides were very knowledgeable on the birds and flora we saw. Sleeping in the Haciendas was unforgettable.

Accommodation was better than expected in most cities and breakfast often had a large selection. Although, would recommend changing the Santiago hotel. The early breakfast was poor and as we were there for 2 nights it was unfortunate to be so far out from the city and a disappointing swimming pool (given it was the only hotel we had time to use the pool). For dinner we often went as a group for meals but the food and service was great and it often felt like eating as a large family.

As most nights are only 1 night in an accommodation it's hard to wash and dry (due to the humidity) clothes before you leave again but laundry service is provided on the 2 night stop over. Bringing some snacks is a good idea as finding these can be hard. A filtered bottle isn't really necessary as bottled water is widely available.
Confirmed traveller: 03 April 2016
Published on: 21 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

Emma

London
Great trip which allows you to see all sides of Cuba. The west of the island is more touristy, whilst the East shows more of everyday life. Walks in Topes de Collante are excellent and sleeping on the verandah of the hacienda is a wonderful experience. Visiting Fidel's hideout in the Sierra Maestre brings the revolution to life, and shows the determination of Fidel, Che and the rebels. Lots of Spanish and colonial architecture, much of it 'faded grandeur', to see in the towns and cities. Music is everywhere!
The food was better than expected, mostly thanks to our guide who knew the restaurants and ensured we nearly always ate very well - fish (lobster, shrimps and fish), meat (pork, chicken and beef), and of course, beans and rice! Glad I have seen the country before its 'upgrade' to the 21st century begins - I can't believe the horse drawn carriages on empty roads will last long once the embargo is lifted.
People were very friendly and it feels a very safe country in which to travel.
Tips - take some snacks as there are few shops in which to buy any, a walking pole is good in the mountains, drink lots of water as it can be very humid, visit the beach on your free afternoon in Trinidad as it is very relaxing, and approach everyone with a smile on your face and they will welcome you with open arms!
Confirmed traveller: 10 April 2016
Published on: 17 April 2016
(9 out of 10)

LH

Thoroughly enjoyed the tour, it was very busy but that was expected. The amazing tour guide Yuni really made the whole trip, she was friendly, bubbly, always accommodationg, using her initiative to make most of our time in Cuba! Great, isn't it!
Confirmed traveller: 02 April 2016
Published on: 16 April 2016