It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
465 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Our latest  brochures are available now, with over 600 adventures for you to choose from.

Gift Vouchers

Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with over 600 tours & experiences to choose from. The perfect gift idea for any occasion.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 1,843

Contrasts Of Colombia BCO

Visiting: Colombia
Tour Duration 14 Days
  • Cathedral of Bogota
  • Coffee growing region, Colombia
  • Cartagena / Proexport Colombia
  • Andes scenery, Colombia
  • Coffee Triangle / Proexport Colombia
  • Tour Style: Classic
  • Tour Type: Small Groups
  • Tour Pace: Moderate
  • Tour Comfort: Standard
 

Book now!

6 reviews for this tour

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Contrasts Of Colombia tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
10 Stephen , 22/03/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

So difficult as the tour was full of different experiences.   I enjoyed Villa de Leyva and Cartagena, but for sheer fun it had to be the mud volcano!

Read more
 
2 Bettina, 18/01/13

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The short haired black cat semi attached to our hotel in Taganga; also Villa de Leyva, our hotel and the town itself. Most of the tour we had no hot water- only in Bogota and Villa de Leyva although some were luckier.

Read more
Our Response

As you are aware due to FCO advice, we did have to change the tour slightly, but we are concerned that you felt an included excursion on your trip was changed to an optional activity, which incurred a cost. Our Operations Manager is currently checking this with our local agent and we will be in contact with you directly if this was the case.

 
10 Karen Patricia Fraser, 12/07/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

I actually enjoyed the whole tour imensely. It was much better than I had expected, considering the country's history/background.

Read more
 
0 JRF, 27/10/11

Great introduction to a beautiful country off limits for too long but now pretty safe. Apart from the stunning scenery in the Andes and valleys, there are wonderful examples of Spanish colonial architecture (Villa de Leyva and Cartegena) and of tropical beaches (Tayrona National Park). But there were unexpected delights too: the tranquil area around Manizales and Armenia where the coffee is grown and the La Cueva in Baranquilla where Gabriel Garcia Marquez partied with his literary cronies in the 1950s, and two great museums in Bogota (the Gold Museum and the Botero Museum) where you get a real feel for a creative past and present.

The itinerary, taking in so many different parts of the country, is well planned and active without being hectic. Our guide was fully briefed on all aspects of his country and found the wit and enthusiasm to entertain us throughout. For once, the tourist strap line - "Colombia, the only risk is wanting to stay" - is spot on! (BCO -30th July 2011)

 
0 Greg Tebble, 16/05/11
A fantastic trip covering most of the diversity of this wonderful country from sub zero volcano summits to 35 degree + Caribbean coasts with lush green coffee plantations and colonial Spanish architecture thrown in for good measure.  Highlights for me were Villa De Leyva and Cartagena with their wonderful colonial feel and vibrant colour.  Tayrona National Park gave us a wonderful walk and a rare chance to meet some Kogui people indigenous to the area around Santa Marta.  We had an excellent tour leader who kept us moving along without the feeling of pressure and there were no really early starts.  Colombia is a truly breathtaking country and this trip shows many of its varied facets at their best.  Highly recommended. (BCO - 12th February 2011)
 
0 LST, 10/03/11
A wonderful country to visit.  Highly recommend it.  Very cultural and arty, so much sculpture everywhere which was a big surprise.  Beautiful countryside, fantastic coffee, it really is a contrast tour from the big busy city of Bogota to the hummingbirds and glaciers of Manazales, to the coffee plantations of Armenia and up to the Caribbean og Cartagena (suddenly you hit the tourist trail a little) and the wonderful beaches of Tayrona. I for one would never in a million years expected to be visiting Colombia on holiday but it was one of the best trips, such a great country so get there now before it turns too touristy. Lovely people and if you get the chance to go to Finlandia on a Saturday morning it has to be the best people watching town - like an old cowboy town except updated now with jeeps and trucks!  Make sure you ask for jeeps to go up the glacier as well. I'd return in a heartbeat. (BCO 1st November - 2010).
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  3. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  4. Tour name (i.e. Inca Trail Trek)
  5. Tour Code (i.e. PQ)
    Invalid Input
  6. What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  7. Tour leader name
  8. How Was Your Explore Tour Leader?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  10. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  11. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    maximum characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  12.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA