It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a trip

Where would you like to go?
What type of trip do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
573 Matching trips
Site Search

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Read reviews

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast trips and experiences to choose from.

Classical Sicily CS

Visiting: Italy , Sicily
Tour Duration 8 Days
Reviews for Classical Sicily

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Classical Sicily tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download

Classical Sicily reviews verified by Reevoo

14 reviews

Reviews from: Sort by:
Classical SicilyScores 8.7 out of 10 based on 14 reviews
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

The tour was really very well organized and all activities were done as planned. The highlights were Palatine Chapel, Mount Etna and Taormina.Mandy is really an outstanding tour leader due to her sympathy and interpersonal skills.
Confirmed traveller: 14 April 2015
Published on: 07 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

Palermo - the Capella Palatina and Monreale. Absolutely stunning Norman churches with Arab influence and Byzantine-style mosaics.At altitudes both high and low, She points out the places to go. To help with our searches For temples and churches, Clare is the one in the know. If Classical temples you seek, She’ll find them, both Roman and Greek. When you want to get through To the front of the queue For the bus, she’s assertive, not meek. And then at the end of the day, There’ll be somewhere that’s comfy to stay; Whatever Explore Offers, Clare gives us more: Top Tour Leader – no more to say!
Confirmed traveller: 22 April 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015
(10 out of 10)

Confirmed traveller

The mosaics in the royal chapel at Palermo were my absolute highlight: the total effect was overwhelming and, having seen Hagia Sophia and the grand mosque at Damascus, it was very interesting to make comparisons. Anya was excellent - enthusiastic, well-informed and good company.
Confirmed traveller: 11 July 2014
Published on: 07 November 2015
(9 out of 10)

Julian

Southampton
This is a busy but very enjoyable week and we were lucky with the weather. The sites visited are all impressive and not one of them did I think "why here ?". The hotels were all within comfortable walking distance of the towns and restaurants. The guides were all knowledgeable and where relevant included English history linking with the Sicilian. At the sites with no guides we had enough time to look at exhibits without rushing. The tour leader Sue could not do enough and was fortunately insistent that we arrived everywhere early so we could enjoy sites before other parties arrived. Her love of the country and its culture shone through. A tour to be recommended.
Confirmed traveller: 03 October 2015
Published on: 28 October 2015
(10 out of 10)

Margaret

London
Piazza America and villa del Castle and Agrigento Valley of the Temples. Also extraordinary island of Mozia.
Good time to go end of September and also in spring.
Highly recommend this trip.
Confirmed traveller: 01 October 2015
Published on: 19 October 2015
(8 out of 10)

Sheila

Droitwich
Piazza Armerina, Valley of the Temples, but many interesting villages etc. well organised and informative. Sue worked v. hard.
Confirmed traveller: 19 September 2015
Published on: 13 October 2015
(8 out of 10)

Gill

London
My favourite site was the mosaics at Piazza Armerina. Some visits were a bit rushed and some overlong plus I would have loved to visit Caltagirone for the ceramics but it was not included.
Confirmed traveller: 04 October 2014
Published on: 09 October 2015
(9 out of 10)

Michael

Whetman
I loved the Villa Romana, the puppets in Palermo (well, all of Palermo, really), the clear, strong light and sense you got everywhere of layers and layers of time and people and cultures overlapping and clashing, making beautiful things and tearing them down. It was a busy trip--but it had to be to see so much of Sicily in so little time--and I still managed to swim in the Mediterranean!
Confirmed traveller: 18 October 2014
Published on: 02 October 2015
(8 out of 10)

Richard

London
The Roman Villa in the centre of the island. Hotels in good locations and accessible to local sights and facilities.
Confirmed traveller: 20 September 2014
Published on: 01 October 2015
(8 out of 10)

Ann

Southampton
I and my husband have done 18 explore trips,and they have all been fantastic.We have already booked the next one. Explore lives up to all it claims to do and be.
Confirmed traveller: 18 April 2015
Published on: 01 October 2015