It appears that your web browser does not support JavaScript, or you have temporarily disabled scripting. The Explore website requires JavaScript enabled to operate correctly.

Find a tour

Where would you like to go?
What type of tour do you like?
When would you like to go?
More search options
521 Matching trips
Site Search

Other tours you might like

Have you considered?

Brochures

Discover our latest brochures available online now, with hundreds of adventures to choose from.

E-newsletter

Be the first to hear about great new tours, competitions, special offers and unique departures.

Customer Reviews

Average Rating: Red-stars

Total number of reviews: 2,720

Gift Vouchers

The perfect gift idea for any occasion. Send gift vouchers and create fantastic memories with vast tours and experiences to choose from.

Reviews for Atacama To Machu Picchu 4.5 out of 5 based on 9 ratings.

Been on this tour? Why not share your experiences by adding your review

Add a review

Tour notes

Each departure date has it's own dedicated tour note, detailing all you need to know about that tour. Whether you've already booked, or weighing up your options, please choose carefully the relevant itinerary for you.

We have the following different versions of the Atacama To Machu Picchu tour available at present.

Please select a date:

Download
4.5 Greg Tebble, 03/12/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Where to begin? The salt flats, Moon valley at sunset, Lake Titicaca, The Train from Puno to Cusco, Machu Picchu and the wonderful views of La Paz. Something astonishing almost every day!

Read more
 
4 Alex Gilmour, 13/11/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

The day we went from San Pedro de Atacama in Chile to Villa Mar in Bolivia was filled with unforgettable landscapes: brightly coloured lagoons, Licancabur volcano, flamingoes on the lagoons, llamas, alpacas and vicunas, stunning rock formations, greenish-gold grasses, brilliant blue skies. Also loved Uyuni Salt Flats and Inchuasi Island; Lake Titicaca and Isla del Sol; Machu Picchu and Cusco; Valparaiso in Chile; Sucre in Bolivia; the bus ride from Puno to Sacred Valley in Peru

Read more
 
5 Sue Guthrie, 28/06/14

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

Uyuni Salt Pans, Potosi, Lake Titikaka, Atacama Desert, Cusco, too many too mention, every day was a highlight! Seriously!

Read more
 
4.5 , 06/12/13

Name

Yvonne Bacon

Tour Name

Atacama To Machu Picchu

Tour Code

AX

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The salt flats were by far the most amazing part of the tour because they were so dramatic and unexpected

Tour Leader Name

Joanna

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Joanna was professional, friendly and efficient. I cannot praise her enough for ensuring that every member of the group gained maximum enjoyment from their holiday

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Make sure you get a prescription for altitude sickness tablets because everyone on the trip suffered

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

It was one of the most amazing experiences of my life and definitely the holiday of my lifetime

 
4.5 , 06/12/13

Name

Bob

Tour Name

Atacama to Machu Picchu

Tour Code

AX

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

The entire trip is a highlight, each day was more astounding than the previous whic hwas in itself astounding. From the time we landed at Santiago until the time we came down from Machu Pichu the whole thing was great. By far and away the best Tour we have done with Explore (and we have done 15)

Tour Leader Name

Joanna

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Jo' was great, very professional and able to deal with anything that was thrown at her.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Take old sandels for the white water rafting, take sun glasses because it really is very very bright up on the Alto Plano, be prepared to take thousands of pictures, try the Pisco Sour and any food that is offerred. And enjoy.

Do You Have Anything Else To Add

It really is worth the money and was just lovely :-)

 
4 , 14/10/13

Name

Nick Ward

Tour Name

Atacama to Machu Picchu

Tour Code

AX

What Was The Highlight Or Most Memorable Moment Of Your Tour

Sights and experiences come at you thick and fast on this tour so picking one out isn't exactly easy. That said, the Bolivian Altiplano and Uyuni Salt flats spring to mind as stand-out landscapes. Wonderful.

Tour Leader Name

Joana

How Was Your Explore Tour Leader

Brilliant. One of the best Tour Leaders I've ever come across. Unfortunately this won't be much use to future travellers as she's retiring. Jo will be a hard act to follow.

What Tips Would You Give To Someone Else Booking This Tour

Take clothes for all seasons. Don't worry about the altitude, but have Ibuprofen handy in case you get the typical headache. Take an alarm clock, you'll be up early most days!

 

 
5 Paula Cook, 28/06/12

What was the highlight or most memorable moment of your tour?

"There were many highlights, but the most memorable were:

1. The Uyuni salt flats. They were extraordinary, surreal, like a Salvador Dali painting come to life. No photograph can do them justice, they have to be seen to be believed.

2. The road from El Alto to La Paz. The world's most extraordinary ride from an airport to the city.

3. Just about everything in Bolivia, the most extraordinary country I've ever been to. Nowhere in the world is like it."

Read more
 
0 LMM, 20/10/10
Absolutely amazing trip - but be aware of the altitude! None of us on my trip had been adequately warned before hand and a few of the trip members got serious effects from the altitude sickness.  It affected everyone on the trip (16 of us) in some form or other, but headaches etc aside, it was well worth it!  The views in Bolivia are unforgettable.  The wild flamingoes, lagoons and the salt flats are out of this world.  Some of the cities i could have done without, but then others on the trip loved the cities, so it depends on your taste really.  Staying on the Lake on the Isla del Sol was one of my highlights.  I took a day off and just relaxed (it's hard to cvatch your breath when walking up hill or doing anything strenuous at that height!) and it was a fabulous day.  The views are stunning, the locals are so hospitable and welcoming...just enjoy!  Machi picchu of course is fabulous, and exceeds all expectations.  I would definitely go through it all again for the experience, just be a bit more prepared that's all! Our tour guide was phenomenal - Chrystel - Nothing was too much trouble and she was fabulous at sorting out any hic-ups with no fuss and always with a smile!  Amazing! (AX - 11th September 2010)
 
0 Anna Burton, 22/09/10
The scenery in Bolivia rivalled that of New Zealand, which I wasn't expecting. I would strongly advise that people follow the tour leaders advice with regards to the Altitude Sickness, trust me, listen to them.... We were very lucky on our tour, our guide recommended fantastic local restaurants to eat in. Try the local cuisine with the exception of the guinea pig, it was fabulous. Read the packing lists, when it says cold, it means it... my gloves and hat were a life saver when it was cold morning starts. Think pack for skiing and you will be set! Take American dollars in cash, much, much easier to change money than having cards. (AX- 15th June)
 
 
Submit a Tour Review
  1. Name(*)
    Please supply your name
  2. Email address(*)
    Please supply your name
  3. Your Tour (*)
    Invalid Input
  4. Summarise Your Experience
    Invalid Input
  5. Please review your overall experience and what your highlights were(*)
    Please summerise your experience
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  6. Tour leader name
  7. Do you have any feedback on your tour leaders performance?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  8. What tips would you give to someone else booking this tour?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)
  9. Overall, how would you rate your holiday? (10 Being Perfect)(*)
    Please rate your trip
  10. Do you have anything else to add?
    Invalid Input
    max characters 800 (approx. 150 words)

  11.   Can't read it - click to try anotherIncorrect answer to CAPTCHA